Contender Entries for Preakness Heat Up

As the Preakness starts to draw nearer, the contenders list seems to be getting better with each passing day. Thirteen horses have been confirmed for race day, including Kentucky Derby winner Big Brown. It is not unusual for only one Kentucky Derby runner to be entered into the Preakness, as most horses are rested after the derby in anticipation for the Belmont Stakes, but this year both Big Brown and Gayego will be in the starting gates of the Preakness.

Even though Gayego did not have a good run in the Kentucky Derby, his trainer, Paulo Lobo, put Gayego’s performance down to an unfortunate start and warns that Gayego will be on top form for the Preakness. Mike Smith will be Gayego’s, jockey, as he has been in the saddle in all six of Gayego’s career starts. Many spectators will be looking out for Gayego, hoping that the Preakness will be a better race for him and that he will perform as well as they know he can.

Great speculation is obviously surrounding Big Brown, wondering if this big and powerful horse will be the next Secretariat. Many have confidence in him, as he was able to leave behind a formidable field of contenders at the Derby to become victorious in the first leg of the Triple Crown. In 1977, a horse by the name of Seattle Slew bagged the Triple Crown during his unbeaten winning spree as a juvenile. If Big Brown manages to win the Preakness, there is the last leg of the Triple Crown to look forward to, the Belmont Stakes. And it is here that many speculate that Big Brown could meet his match in the well rested Casino Drive. Casino Drive is a horse that has a lot to prove. Mare, Better Than Honour, has produced two Belmont Stakes winners that won consecutively, and if Casino Drive wins, Better Than Honour would have produced three consecutive winners.

The stakes are high and the anticipation for one of the toughest racing events is starting to grow. The most recent confirmed list of contenders for the 2008 Preakness Stakes is as follows: Big Brown (Trainer: Richard Dutrow; Jockey Kent Desmormeaux), Gayego (Trainer: Paulo Lobo; Jockey: Mike Smith), Behindatthebar (Trainer: Todd Pletcher; Jockey: David Flores), Giant Moon (Trainer: Richard Schosberg; Jockey: Ramon Dominguez), Yankee Bravo (Trainer: Patrick Gallagher; Jockey: Alex Solis), Racecar Rhapsody (Trainer: Ken McPeek; Jockey: Robby Albarado), Hey Byrn (Trainer: Eddie Plesa; Jockey: CC Lopez), Tres Borrachos (Trainer: Beau Greely; Jockey Tyler Baze), Stevil (Trainer: Nick Zito; Jockey: Rafael Bejarano), Icabad Crane (Trainer: Graham Motion; Jockey: Jeremy Rose), Kentucky Bear (Trainer: Reade Baker; Jockey: Jamie Theriot), Riley Tucker (Trainer: Bill Mott; Jockey: Edgar Prado) and Macho Again (Trainer: Dallas Stewart; Jockey: Julien Leparoux). It is a contender field that is going to set the Preakness on fire.

Back to Blog