Ohio Honors Top Horses

The Ohio Thoroughbred Breeders and Owners organization was established to promote the sport of horse racing and oversee the development of the breeding programs in the State of Ohio. They are dedicated to improving racing conditions throughout the State and encourage the research of safety for both horses and jockeys at racing events. Working together with the members of the horse racing industry in the state has led to higher quality horses being bred, and each year the performance of outstanding horses, breeders, owners and trainers are honored.

On the 28th of March 2008, the Ohio Thoroughbred Breeders and Owners hosted their annual meeting, where they give recognition to horses and people in the racing industry, who have excelled during the season. Winners of the individual awards are chosen by way of voting, and this year, voting was not only open to the Ohio Thoroughbred Breeders and Owners members and the press but the general public was invited to also cast their vote.

The 2007 Ohio Horse of the Year Award was won by King of the Roxy. Deborah Kopaz, who bred King of the Roxy, also received recognition. Kopaz was honored by The Blood-Horse Magazine for breeding King of the Roxy and for owning the winning state mare, Marrakesh, who was also King of the Roxy’s dam.

In the Divisional Champions, in the Two-Year Old Division, the colt O’Riain (Owner: William Ryan; Trainer: Ivan Vasques; Breeder: Dave Barnaclo) took top honors, as did Sarasponda (Owner and Breeder: Joe Weir; Trainer: Joseph Shuman) for top two-year old filly. In the Three-Year Olds Division, the top colt was Pyrite Personal (Owner: Pyrite Stables; Breeder: Dr. D.W. Frazier; Trainer: Miguel Feliciano) and the winning filly was Pay the Main (Owner: Pyrite Stables; Breeder: Dr. D.W. Frazier; Trainer: Miguel Feliciano).

Catlaunch (Owner and Breeder: Ron Field’s Scioto Farm Supply; Trainer: Ivan Vasquez) received the award for the best handicap male as well as the Ohio Accredited Champions award. The best female handicap champion title went to Cryptoquip (Owner and Breeder: Elisabeth Alexander; Trainer: Graham Motion) and Elisabeth Alexander went home with the Champion Ohio Owner of the year award. For the female Ohio Accredited Champions, the votes went to Mini Mom (Owners: Larry Lehmann / Tim Hamm; Breeder: Tim Hamm Blazing Meadows Farm; Trainer: Tim Hamm), with Dooze (Owners: Shazam Stables / Equirace.com; Breeders: Shazam Stables / David Shashura / Albert Palacios; Trainer: Michael Maker) being named the Sprinter of the year. As mentioned earlier, broodmare of the year went to Marrakesh, and Mercer Mill (Kimpton and Lori Williams’ Fair Winds Farm) was honored as top stallion.

The Ohio State has once again proved that it has magnificent horses emerging from its breeding programs and that the assistance and support that is given to the racing community by the Ohio Thoroughbred Breeders and Owners organization is invaluable. No doubt the hard work and dedication to horses and horse racing will continue, and see new names added to the distinguished winner’s list next year.

Back to Blog