Somebeachsomewhere Shines at Awards

In Canadian harness racing, the O’Brien Awards is a highly anticipated and prestigious event. The awards were dedicated to the late Joe O’Brien. In his forty five years as a driver and harness racing trainer, he won more than four thousand racing events and finished his career with winning millions in purse money. In 1970, he was inducted into the Living Hall of Fame, and while Joe O’Brian passed away in 1984, his legacy of outstanding performances lives on the in the O’Brian Awards, that recognizes both human and equine athlete performances.

On Saturday, 31 January 2009, the harness racing community arrived at the awards ceremony keen to find out who the winners are this year. Winners are chosen in their various categories by way of voting. Ballot packages are compiled and sent to voters, and once the votes have been received, they are counted and winners are selected. Voters include of journalists and members of the media who write about, report on or are actively involved in the harness racing industry. The remainder of voters is made up of track publicists and race secretaries. And this year, voters seemed to favor one horse in particular, the legendary, Somebeachsomewhere.

Somebeachsomewhere has become a household name in the harness racing community, delivering near perfect performances almost every time he goes out. For the first time in O’Brien Awards history, Somebeachsomewhere won the Canadian Horse of the Year Award for the second time consecutively, but also walked away with the Cam Fella Award and the Three Year Old Pacing Colt of the Year. Voters voted unanimously for Somebeachsomewhere to be named the Three Year Old Pacing Colt of the Year. His good fortune also extended to his driver, Paul MacDonell, who won the Driver of the Year Award.

Other winners in their various categories included, St Lads Popcorn, Nebupanezzar, Chancey Lady, My Little Dragon, Secrets Nephew, Elusive Desire, Federal Flex, Lantern Kronos, Define The World, Brigham Dream, Arch Madness, Phil Pinkney, Robert Hamather, Robert McIntosh, Dave Briggs and Horse Racing Alberta. But Somebeachsomewhere took the limelight, as the awards confirmed his superiority in the harness racing industry and cemented his legacy in racing history.

Back to Blog