USHWA Reward Harness Racing Community

In 1947, the United States Harness Writing Association was established, and as it is a media organization, only press members and promoters are permitted to join the association. It was founded by a group of writers that dedicated their time in keeping harness racing events in the news, but their responsibilities toward the harness racing community have expanded past reporting on racing events, as the United States Harness Writing Association are responsible for Harness Racing Hall of Fame candidate selections.

But they also give honor to those who have achieved greatness or contributed to harness racing and on Sunday, the 26th of October 2008, the 50th awards banquet for the Monticello-Goshen Chapter of the USHWA was held. Over two hundred people walked through the doors of the Kutshers Country Club to support the awards evening, while some were in attendance to receive awards. It was an evening to remember as legendary harness racing figures, which varied from breeders to drivers, arrived at the prestigious event.

Award recipients were as follows:

  • Hal Jones – Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Gail Cunard – Excelsior Achievement Award
  • Matt Pepin – Good Guy Award
  • Peter Goold – Amy Bull Crist Distinguished Service Award
  • Ray Schnittker – Most Happy Fella Award
  • Dave Offenberg – Amateur Driver of the Year
  • Jimmy Marohn, Jr. – Rising Star Award
  • Peter J. Lutman III – Max A. Brewer Award (Promising young driver)
  • Hogies Cam – Horse of the Year
  • Abaton Hanover – Comeback of the Year Award
  • Giacometti – 2-Year-Old Colt Pacer of the Year
  • B Intensified – 2-Year-Old Filly Pacer of the Year Award
  • Never Missed – 2-Year-Old Trotting Colt of the Year
  • Smartina Pants – 2-Year-Old Filly Trotter of the Year Award
  • New Release – 3-Year-Old Pacer of The Year
  • Jon Jon – 3-Year-Old Trotting Colt of the Year
  • High Limit – 3-Year-Old Trotting Filly of the Year
  • Donnegal – Older Trotting Horse of the Year
  • Match That – Older Trotting Mare of the Year
  • Nevertroubletroubl – Older Pacing Horse of the Year
  • Double Dream N – Older Pacing Mare of the Year

Various claiming category awards were also given to Trot West Bandit, Financial Aid, Missy’s QT, Mystical Tenor, US Stars N Stripes, Odee Ozar and Sudden Speed. Hogies Cam’s owner, Charles Strukel, was given the Owner of the Year Award, Alan Schwartz received the Presidents’ Award and the Caretaker of the Year award went to Michelle Logothery.